The Unmanaged Users list may not show all unmanaged users associated with your domain. Unmanaged users who do not have access to your organization’s content are listed only on Enterprise and above plans, and only if your domain was verified using a DNS check or was added by Box Product Support. If your domain was registered through initial setup or is a legacy domain, these users are not displayed.Because the Admin Console does not indicate which verification method was used for your domain, you may not see expected users without a clear reason. If you believe unmanaged users are missing from the list, contact Box Support to confirm your domain’s verification method. If your domain is not yet verified through a DNS check, see Domain Management, Verification, and Auto Enrollment for instructions on verifying your domain.
Convert unmanaged users to managed users
- Go to Admin Console > Users & Groups.
- Select the External Users tab.
- In the drop-down list, select Unmanaged Users.
- Optionally filter the list by collaborations or invite status. Select all applies only to users that match the filters you set. For filter details, see Viewing and filtering user lists.
- Select the users to convert:
- To convert a single user, hover over the name of that user and select Make Managed User () at the end of the row.
- To convert multiple users, select each user’s check box at the end of the row, or select Select all in the table header. Then select Make Managed User at the top of the list.
- In the confirmation dialog box, select Confirm.
- In the Make Managed User dialog box, select Send.
If your selection includes users who were already sent an invite, the confirmation dialog tells you that those users are skipped and do not receive another invite notification. Only users who have not yet been invited receive the invite. Users already in their active 14-day invite window are not invited again.
Invite unmanaged users using the email address associated with their Box account
- Add a managed user with the current email address of the unmanaged user that you want to invite.
- When an error message displays stating that the user failed to be added, ignore the error, and select Save again to send the invitation.