Skip to main content
With Groups, Enterprise admins have the ability to add multiple users to folders and assign access permissions quickly and easily. When implemented effectively, groups streamline deployment and make long-term user management much simpler.
Only users within your organization (managed users) can be added to Groups. You cannot add external users to your managed Groups.
To create a group:
  1. Go to Admin Console > Users & Groups.
  2. Select the Groups tab.
  3. Select Create Group.
  4. Enter a unique Group Name and an optional description. (While the Description field is optional, it is a good practice to enter a useful description, such as the purpose of the group and a summary of its membership and what content it shares.)
  5. Select the Permission Setting for the group, which defines who can invite this group to folders and view the members of the group, from:
    1. Company - anyone in your company
    2. Group Members - group members only
    3. Admins Only - Admins can only add or remove users within the Admin Console for this group. This choice does not allow members of the group to view the other members of the group, invite the entire group to folders, or to assign a task to other members.
  6. Select Next.
  7. (Optional) On the Members page, add members:
    1. Select Add +.
    2. In Users, enter the names or email addresses of the managed users you want to add.
    3. (Optional) Select Set as Group Admin to make all the users you’re adding group admins.
    4. Select Add.
  8. (Optional) To change a user’s role, in the Access Level column, select their current access level and select Member or Group Admin.
  9. (Optional) To give a group admin more access:
    1. Next to Group Admin, select the permissions link, for example, 0 permissions applied.
    2. In Set Group Admin Permissions, turn on the permissions you want. All four permissions are off by default. See Group admin permissions for what each permission grants.
    3. Select Save.
  10. Select Save.
To edit or delete an existing Group
  1. Navigate to the Groups tab (see above for instructions)
  2. Select an existing group’s name.
  3. On this page, you see an overview of the group’s details. You can edit the group by selecting any of the Edit buttons located on the page. You can also delete the group by selecting Delete Group in the upper right corner.

Best practices for Group management

Before creating your groups, it’s a good idea to consider both your company’s structure and the structure of your folders in Box.

Groups should fit your company

Because your organization is probably broken down into departments, project teams or other sub-units, you might need to grant different teams different levels of access – to different content. Groups make this division of labor easy to replicate in Box, and also give you the opportunity to create new teams along new lines.

Groups should fit your folder structure

Because you’ll be assigning folders to groups – and by extension, to multiple users – it helps to have a folder structure that makes sense. If you’ve set up your folders by department or project, then do the same with groups. This will make it easier to manage them, saving you time in the long run.

File access from multiple groups

It’s not uncommon for two or more groups to have access to the same folder, with each group assigned a different permission level. In this case, anyone who belongs to both groups can access that folder at the higher permission level. For example:
  • There’s a “Projects” group whose members have editor access to the project invoices folder
  • There’s a “Project Admin” group whose members have co-owner access to the project invoices folder
  • Juan is a member of both groups. As a result, Juan has co-owner access to the project invoices folder.
Last modified on October 27, 2026