Skip to main content
If you need to recover someone who has been deleted, for example, someone deleted from your enterprise by accident, use Restore Recently Deleted Users. If you cannot restore the user that way, open a ticket with Box Product Support. Include the following information from the main admin account, or from the account of the co-admin who performed the deletion:
  1. Name of the user
  2. Email of the user
  3. Date they were deleted
When we receive this information, we can recover the account in question.
  • Whether collaborations are restored depends on how long ago the user was deleted. See Restore Recently Deleted Users. If you restore a user 15 to 30 days after deletion, collaboration permissions are not restored. This includes collaborations that other users had on items the user owned, and collaborations where the user was invited to items owned by others. Add the user back to folders they need access to, and add other people back to folders the restored user owned. Admins with reporting capabilities can run a report to see which folders the deleted person must be added back to, and what that person’s previous permission level was. To do this, run a report for “remove collaborator” and then export the report.
  • If someone is deleted with owned content, and the content was not transferred, collaborations on that folder are removed after 15 days. If you restore the user after those collaborations are removed, add people back to the folder. Owned content deleted 14 days ago or less can be restored with the account from the Admin Console. After that period ends, we cannot guarantee that the files or folders are recoverable. To preserve collaborations on owned content, transfer the folder before you delete the user.
Last modified on September 18, 2026