Skip to main content
File and folder expiration is no longer available to new customers. This feature remains available to existing customers. To permanently delete content after a specific period of time, see retention policies.

About file and folder auto-expiration

File and folder auto-expiration lets enterprises automatically send files and folders to Trash after a set amount of time. If Trash is not enabled, the content is permanently deleted instead. When this setting is enabled, content uploaded or created after enablement is automatically deleted when it expires. When you disable the setting, newly uploaded or created content does not expire. Users can still extend the expiration date for content that already has an expiration applied.

Admin options

Admins can further customize file and folder auto-expiration:
  • Set how long after creation content is deleted.
  • Choose whether auto-expiration applies to files, folders, or both.
  • Optionally allow item owners and editors to modify the expiration date of individual files and folders in the Box web app.
Content uploaded to a folder with an expiration date does not inherit that expiration date. The content is still deleted when the parent folder expires.
Last modified on August 11, 2026